agrarfoto.com, Gosenhuberstr. 10, A- 4550 Kremsmünster, office@agrarfoto.com, +43 (0) 676 6501468, www.agrarfoto.com

Photograhper Team

Hans-Peter Zwicklhuber

Hans-Peter Zwicklhuber

Kremsmünster / Upper Austria
  • Agricultural teacher
  • Founder of "agrarfoto.com"
  • Photographer and film maker of Agriculture and Forestry
  • Trained cattle photographer
Andrea Jungwirth

Andrea Jungwirth

Vienna / Austria
  • PR Mentor
  • Nutritionist
  • Photographer specializing in landscapes, flora and fauna, culinary art and food
Jörn Gläser

Jörn Gläser

Wedemark / Germany
  • Student of Agricultural Science
  • Photographer of modern agricultural engineering in northern Germany
Walter Schreiner

Walter Schreiner

Kremsmünster / Upper Austria
  • Technician
  • Airplane and helicopter telecommander
  • Aerial photographer of agriculture and forestry
Wolfgang Milan

Wolfgang Milan

Vienna / Austria
  • Graduate merchant engineer
  • Published author
  • Photographer of rural villages, original and historical farms, and folk culture

Background

The first photos, taken with a digital camera, were the inspiration for what agrarfoto.com is today. In 2001 the School of Agriculture in Schlierbach acquired a small Canon digital camera. Hans-Peter Zwickelhuber, agriculture lecturer, had repeated goes with it and was thrilled with the results. A small archive soon came into existence. These pictures should not simply stay on the hard drive of a personal computer but should be able to be seen all over the world on the internet – that was the idea then.

The next step was to create a very simple homepage with these initial pictures. At this point there was still no notion of any commercial aspect.

Bernhard Weber – Chief editor of Austria’s largest agricultural newspaper “Blink ins Land” – saw these first pictures and arranged a meeting with Hans-Peter Zwickelhuber. Now the ball was rolling: CDs of the first selections of farming photos – already known as “Agrarfotos” - were sent to several agricultural publishing companies. Their good reception led to the decision to programme a picture database. By 2002 already the database, programmed by the company “Globlnet” of Linz, was online. Agrarfoto.com was one of the first online picture databases offering the possibility to download high resolution pictures.

Over the following years the field of agriculture has been explored down to the smallest details. Numerous prizes and awards for Hans-Peter Zwickelhuber’s have followed. Again and again, Agrarfotos have met with success in photography competitions across Europe.

From 2006 the one-man business grew into a team. Andrea Jungwirth of Vienna began to stock the database with pictures mainly from the area of food, Jörn Gläser of Hannover provided pictures from northern Germany’s agriculture, Austria’s Walter Schreiner started aerial photographs and Wolfgang Milan, also from Vienna, contributed pictures of folk culture.

Photographic technology has been ever more refined - HDR imagery, panorama, RAW image files, as well as state of the art Nikon technology guarantee superlative images.

The most important thing apart from modern technology is a broad agricultural knowledge and good contacts with farmers. Only when this is taken as given can compelling imagery from agriculture and nature sources be created.

Continuous meticulous work behind the scenes ensures the outstanding system that prevails at agrarfoto.com. Ultimately the right keyword determines whether an image will be found or not.

In addition to photography, film is becoming more and more important.

Since 2008, the database has also offered thousands of short video clips (“Footage”). This video material can be downloaded in the same full resolution as the photos, and is ideal for the creation of documentaries.

Today agrarfoto.com is one of the most comprehensive and well assorted agricultural image databases in and beyond the German speaking countries.

Photographing on the farms and fields and contact with the farmers provides great gratification.

home...

agrarfoto.com, Gosenhuberstr. 10, A- 4550 Kremsmünster, office@agrarfoto.com, +43 (0) 676 6501468, www.agrarfoto.com

Das Team

Hans-Peter Zwicklhuber

Hans-Peter Zwicklhuber

Kremsmünster / Oberösterreich
  • Landwirtschaftslehrer
  • Gründer von "agrarfoto.com"
  • Fotografie und Filmen von Land- und Forstwirtschaft
  • Ausgebildeter Rinderfotograf
Andrea Jungwirth

Andrea Jungwirth

Wien
  • PR-Beraterin
  • Ernährungsberaterin
  • Fotografie von Landschaften, Fauna und Flora, Kulinarik und Lebensmittel
Jörn Gläser

Jörn Gläser

Wedemark / Niedersachsen
  • Student der Agrarwissenschaften
  • Fotografie von moderner Agrartechnik und Landwirtschaft in Norddeutschland
Walter Schreiner

Walter Schreiner

Kremsmünster / Oberösterreich
  • Techniker
  • Motorflugzeug, Motordrachen, ferngesteuerte Flugzeuge und Hubschrauber
  • Luftfotografie von Land- und Forstwirtschaft
Wolfgang Milan

Wolfgang Milan

Wien
  • Diplomkaufmann
  • Buchautor
  • Fotografie von Dörfern, Bauernhausformen und Volkskultur

Unsere Geschichte

Die ersten Fotos mit einer Digitalkamera waren der zündende Funke für das heutige agrarfoto.com. Im Jahr 2001 schaffte die Landwirtschaftsschule Schlierbach eine kleine Canon Digitalkamera an. Hans-Peter Zwicklhuber, Landwirtschaftsleher, probierte diese Kamera immer wieder aus und war von den Ergebnissen begeistert. Schon bald war ein kleines Archiv an Fotos vorhanden. Diese Bilder sollten nicht nur auf der Festplatte am eigenen PC sein, sondern über Internet weltweit zu sehen sein - so war damals der Gedanke.

Der nächste Schritt war die Erstellung einer ganz einfachen Homepage mit diesen ersten Bildern. Es war eigentlich noch kein kommerzieller Gedanke vorhanden.

Bernhard Weber - Chefredakteur der größten österreichischen Landwirtschaftszeitung "Blick ins Land" - wurde auf die ersten Fotos aufmerksam. Er vereinbarte einen Gesprächstermin mit Hans-Peter Zwicklhuber. Nun war der Stein ins Rollen gebracht: über CD´s wurden an mehrere Landwirtschaftsverlage die ersten Auswahlen an Landwirtschaftsfotos -nun bereits "Agrarfotos" genannt - gesandt. Die gute Akzeptanz der Fotos führte zur Entscheidung, eine eigene Bilddatenbank zu programmieren. Bereits 2002 ging die Bilddatenbank, programmiert von der Firma "Globlnet" in Linz, online. agrarfoto.com gehörte zu den ersten online Bilddatenbanken mit download- Möglichkeit hoch aufgelöster Bilder.

In den weiteren Jahren wurde das Thema Landwirtschaft fotografisch bis in die kleinsten Teile aufgearbeitet. Es folgten zahlreiche Fotopreise und Prämierungen der fotografischen Arbeit von Hans-Peter Zwicklhuber. In europaweiten Fotowettbewerben waren "Agrarfotos" immer wieder erfolgreich.

Ab 2006 wurde aus dem Einzelunternehmen ein Team geformt. Andrea Jungwirth aus Wien begann das Archiv hauptsächlich mit Fotos aus dem Food- Bereich aufzustocken, Jörn Gläser aus Hannover lieferte Bilder aus der Landwirtschaft in Norddeutschland, Walter Schreiner aus Oberösterreich begann mit Luftbildern und Wolfgang Milan aus Wien steuerte Bilder aus der Volkskultur bei.

Die Fototechnik wurde immer mehr verfeinert - HDR Technik, Panoramabilder, Fotos aus RAW Dateien, sowie topmoderne Nikon Technik garantieren brilliante Bilder. Das Um und Auf neben moderner Technik ist jedoch ein breites landwirtschaftliches Fachwissen, sowie gute Kontakte zu den Bauern. Nur wenn dies gegeben ist, kann im Bereich Landwirtschaft und Natur aussagekräftiges Bildmaterial angeboten werden.

Eine sorgfältige und permanente Arbeit im Hintergrund der Bilddatenbank garantiert die hervorragende Ordnung, die in agrarfoto.com vorherrscht. Die richtige Beschlagwortung entscheidet letztendlich, ob die gewünschten Bilder gefunden werden.

Neben der Fotografie der Landwirtschaft bekommt das Filmen eine immer größere Bedeutung.

Bereits seit 2008 ist die Bilddatenbank auch mit tausenden kurzen Videoclips ("Footage") ausgestattet. Dieses Videomaterial kann genauso wie die Bilder in voller Auflösung downgeloadet werden und eignet sich zur Erstellung von Dokumentarfilmen.

Heute gehört agrarfoto.com zu den umfangreichsten und bestsortierten landwirtschaftlichen Bilddatenbanken über den deutschen Sprachraum hinaus. Die fotografische Arbeit auf den Höfen und Feldern sowie der enge Kontakt zu den Bauern machen große Freude.

home...